26
Mar
10

The Body Art Expo at the Cow Palace

This was a pretty silly tattoo. I loved every moment of it. 

This was my second time doing this tattoo convention at the Cow Palace. The name says it all. They heard you around like cattle. The Cow Palace was originally built for the rodeo. They hold every event you could ever imagine there: the gun show, the dog show and the train show. Can’t wait for the Slayer show.

I drew this rose on with a Sharpie. I prefer to work that way especially at a tattoo convention. The customer actually bought the rose painting off of me in the previous post. She just happened to run into  me at the right time twice in a week.

This Mermaid was a fun piece. I always enjoy doing traditional American tattoos.

The Cow Palace is  a mad house with hundreds of people drinking cheap beer, eating hot dogs and looking for tattoos. It is quite entertaining; I love people-watching.

I met a lot of new clients and did some cool tattoos. This year I was a lot less frustrated, already knowing what to expect from last year. I had a great time.

This last piece is still  in progress. We are working on an octopus sleeve with a young lady having a smoke. I had a little bit of time at the convention to put some black into the clouds. A tattoo this big with this much detail can take multiple sessions. The Misfits skull was already there. As much as I wish I could take credit for it, I just haven’t been tattooing that long.

Thank you to all my customers. I hope you love your tattoos and come in for another one.

I enjoy doing large custom tattoos and paintings. I work at True Love Tattoo in Berkeley, Ca
Please send me an email if you are interested in my art herlihytattoo@gmail.com

The Dirty Rigs


