06
Feb
10

Anchor of my Soul

Hey Nic,

Whats up? Here are some of the pictures that Doe took the other day.
I wanted to post them on my blog: https://danielherlihy.wordpress.com/
Only when I went to post them I was having a hard time remembering exactly how we went about coming up with the designs and what these tattoos mean to you.
I was wondering if you could give me some words to help make this post better and more complete.
Daniel

Hey Dan,
Thanks for the pictures! They look great.

I kinda get a vision of what I want when I read the bible and these are themes that I have incorporated from the bible into traditional tattoo art. Not trying to overwhelm the art, but I am singularly influenced by the unique message of the bible and the life of Christ. I want my tattoos to represent who I am and being a Christian they should represent the teachings of the bible. The forearm one represents the power of love over death. Its represents how the Love of Jesus raised him from the dead as the heart(a sign of love) is coming out of the coffin(a sign of death). But its not a lovey dovey heart, but a real heart with depth beauty and rawness to it representing how life is beautiful but raw and not pretty sometimes.

The arm is simply the light shining through the darkness for all passing by to be warned about. The gospel is a warning of the dangers to come just like a lighthouse warns ships passing by that if they continue down that trail peril will meet them. And its got the anchor to represent the security that the Christian life brings, hence, ‘anchor of my soul’ talking about Jesus. I like that phrase because its not ‘I AM CHRISTIAN’ because I dont want to offend anybody by being rude with my beliefs but I also cant separate them from who I am.

So I hope that helps. Sorry if it sounds preachy I dont mean to be, but in a sense we all preach something. Take what helps you. If you need more let me know.

Take it easy! See you soon! Stoked to see things seem to be going well!

Nic



I enjoy doing large custom tattoos and paintings. I work at True Love Tattoo in Berkeley, Ca
Please send me an email if you are interested in my art herlihytattoo@gmail.com

The Dirty Rigs